Every year several languages die out. Some people think that is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s era of rapid globalization, an increasing number of languages are going extinct. While some people believe that this does not play a huge role, as reduction of languages would significantly enhance convenience in our daily lives, I contend that the loss of languages is detrimental for national heritage, identity, and cultural variety.

First and foremost, languages are not merely tools for communication, but one of the major constituents of cultural identity and heritage. The loss of a language, which includes traditions, myths, songs, and proverbs of entire nation, has a particularly adverse effect on cultural diversity. For instance, the number of native Chechen speakers diminished by almost 70% over the decade, thereby jeopardizing the rich diversity of human expression and wisdom embedded within these distinctive cultures. Therefore, if a language dies out, humans are deprived of a unique worldview, thus making it essential to preserve a language.

In addition, multilingualism fosters cognitive skills and creativity. As a result, people who are multilingual possess greater problem-solving skills and variative models of thinking. By diminishing the number of languages, people are becoming stripped of numerous abstract and cultural concepts, which do not have any analogue in other languages. Therefore, advocating for fewer languages may markedly narrow our collective intellectual horizons.

Nevertheless, proponents of reduced linguistic diversity cite that it would considerably enhance communication efficiency and foster globalization, thus positively affecting business and diplomacy. However, historical evidence suggests that nations with multiple languages often thrive economically and politically. For instance, Switzerland, with its four official languages, is top ranked in quality of life and has maintained a robust economy. This indicates that linguistic variety does not only enrich cultural heritage, but also contributes to societal and economic development.

In conclusion, while fewer languages could increase communication efficiency, the preservation of language is crucial for maintaining cultural heritage, identity, enhancing cognitive skills, and creativity.