Some people think that planting trees in open spaces in cities and towns is more important than building houses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate on whether governments plant trees in empty areas of town and cities or use land for more houses. While housing construction meet the urgent demand about population, I mostly agree with opinion that governments should plant more trees in cities and towns because it brings long-term and sustainable benefit.

On the one hand, building houses can solve many social and economic issues. Firstly, the housing development projects play a vital role in providing more career opportunities in construction and related industries such as transportation and real estate, thereby controlling unemployment rate, contributing to increase resident’s income and promoting the development of nation’s economy. Secondly, global population is witnessing a rapid growth leading to housing shortages; as a result, building more residental areas is a suitable solution to address population issues. Besides, using empty land to construct more available and affordable accomodations for people controls effectively population pressure.

On the other hand, planting more trees brings long-term and sustainable advantage for the environment. Greeneries can absorb a large amount of carbon dioxide, filter harmful pollutants in the air such as smoke and dust, thereby significantly reducing environmental pollution and mitigating global warming. For instance, Singapore, a country with many greeneries, witnesses low level of contamination. In addition, green spaces can enhance significantly people’s health. Parks and public gardens provide ideal locations to entertain and relax, promote physical activities and boost resident’s mental health; moreover, green places create opportunites to connect and interact with the community. The investment in construct green sites not only brings a long-term development about the ecology, but also a positive impact on community health.

Although constructing houses can solve issues in controlling unemployment rate and address population pressure, I strongly believe that governments should plant more greeneries in urban areas since this policy brings many sustainable benefits for the ecology and humans well-being.