Some people think that planting trees in open spaces in cities and towns is more important than building houses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Planting trees in open spaces in cities and towns is considered more crucial by some people, compared to building houses and facilities. While I agree with this idea, I believe that a proper balance between ecological needs and the demand for housing is necessary for sustainable development.

Increasing the amount of greenery in open areas like parks or vacant land is a useful way to reduce heavy air pollution, especially in big cities where the population rate is high. Trees and green fields create a peaceful living environment which promotes a better living standard and better mental health for householders, for example, families can spend their leisure time with their children in these parks. Furthermore, trees could be better spots to hide from the sun’s heat, so everyone can walk comfortably throughout the cities and towns.

However, in the cities, planting more trees than necessary has a negative impact on the economy, because many people try to move there to find new workplaces, which require spaces to be built. Housing is also essential for any country that is hoping to develop its economy, as workers must have access to affordable homes. Without land for construction, new houses cannot be built, and this will likely result in a rise in housing prices that makes it difficult to buy or rent houses in big cities. Therefore, governments should set aside areas for green spaces and buildings.

In conclusion, planting trees is very beneficial for providing oxygen and improving the neighborhood’s quality of living, whereas covering larger areas with plants may prevent the construction of new buildings, which in turn may lead to higher housing prices and have a negative effect on the economy.