Some people think that poverty is the reason behind most crimes. Do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that poverty is the major factor that leads individuals to commit crimes. Although this belief may be true to some extent, another notion should be considered.

Perhaps the major reason why poverty plays an important role in crimes is that poverty can create individuals who feel desperate to fulfill their needs. There are many major crimes in areas with poor living standards and high unemployment. For example, robberies are pervasive in slum areas in megacities. This is because individuals are unable to fulfill their basic needs, such as food, a house, and education, and they may feel they have no other options. Therefore, it is common to see higher rates of drug trafficking, pickpocketing, and other criminal offenses in massively low incomes.

However, although poverty can be a risk factor for criminal behaviour, it is undeniably true that individuals from wealthy backgrounds and decent standards of living are undeniably capable of committing crimes. Those born into privilege may feel entitled and empowered to do anything with their financial resources. Without a proper education and strong moral values, such individuals may engage in corruption, collusion, and nepotism. According to the Centre for Poverty Analysis (CEPA), corruption and political nepotism by incompetent leaders have been major contributors to Sri Lanka’s economic collapse. Similarly, these types of individuals can be dangerous just like those who live in a poor economy.

Overall, it is sensible to note that despite poverty can lead individuals from poor living conditions to commit crimes, it is undeniable that people from wealthy backgrounds are capable of commiting crimes too. Therefore, it is crucial to improve and achieve adequate education accompanied by increasing fundamental moral values to prevent criminal behaviour.