Some people think that poverty is the reason behind most crimes. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are numerous reasons to develop criminal behaviour however, the crime rate levels might be more elevated, particularly in those who are economically underprivileged. This situation is causing financial hardship and ultimately, practising crimes as a solution. Therefore, I believe poverty is the main factor to commit crimes. In This essay I will discuss not only the reasons why poor people are involved in crime but wealthy people as well.

One the one hand, a low-economic status person has significantly reduced opportunities in improving or establishing their situation due to a lack of income. Unfortunately, this prevents someone monetarily in investing in higher levels of education and, thus to increase the likelihood of obtaining a well-paid job. If an individual has a low-income or is jobless, they will engage in inappropriate activities to survive. Futhermore, people who live in areas with high levels of poverty and, unintentionally observed illegal behaviour such as: stealing and selling substances, they would be more vulnerable in following the same pattern. Living in a disadvantageous environment is notoriously a contributor to others to replicate criminal behaviours.

On the other hand, the practice of crimes is commited by wealthy individuals, when they purposely avoid paying their taxes to a government, which is a legal requirement. Should every person cooperate in paying their taxes, the government will have more funds to improve its country. In addition, prisoners who have been recently released from a prision without receiving rehabilitation, they are more likely to relapse. This is because of lack of social inclusion’s policies in supporting a newly released prisioner into a society.

In summary, despite the majority of crimes being commited by poor people, some of the crimes are practiced by well-established individuals. However, a poor person is attempting to survive and, a rich individual is intereted in expanding their wealth, whether it is intentional or not.