Some people think that printed books are no longer needed in the digital era, because all writing can be stored electronically. Others think printed books will still play an important role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is recently debated that whether printed books are needed in a digital era where people can easily get accesses to electronic books. While the use of e-books has increased since technology has advanced significantly, I still believe that paper books will constantly exist due to its importance.

One reason for the increasing use of e-book is that people in nowadays use their phones or other electronic devices more frequently than their counterparts two decades ago, thanks to advanced technologies. As a result, people can gradually get used to read books with their mobile phones or laptops, which offer a variety types of e-books on the book apps or some novel websites. Furthermore, readers can read a digital book whenever and wherever they want to. For instance, you can easily find someone reading on a metro or in a cafe when they are waiting for order. This convenience made them a dominant way of reading in today’s world.

However, there are so many advantages that can only be brought by paper books. Firstly, it is harmful for people especially young children in their eyesight to use digital devices for a long time. If their textbooks are no longer made of papers but stored in an ipad, a huge number of students may have short-sight and wear glasses for the rest of their life. Secondly, compared to watch the screen, reading a paper booking is more enjoyable and peaceful – a lot of people just love the way they interact with paper.

In conclusion, while storing book electronically brings loads of convenience, I would argue that printed books will continually be an important part of our life, and nothing can change it.