Some people think that schools should focus more on teaching students how to be good citizens and less on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What are schools for? To teach children you might say. But in this age, where you get any information at the top of your finger, what relevance does school play? Should they teach academics subjects like they have been doing all these years? Or should they shift their focus to carving out future model citizens? Both sides of this argument have its supporters. However, I think balancing is the key for this issue.

Even though, schools were started to teach academic subjects, the rapid growth of technology has made access to education and information easier and smoother, compared to the days when students could only learn from teachers or books. As a result of this spontaneous change, some people feel that it is not important to teach these subjects as they are readily available online. However, along with this rapid change, bear in mind, that academic subjects have also evolved and have become mammoths to tackle. So it is highly important that students get as much support in this area as they can, so that they can feel ready take on the ever changing effervescent world.

Simultaneously, it is also of equal importance that schools focus on bringing out model citizens to the world as well. Why do we need to do that? Because just like you can’t let a child play with an expensive device, you can’t expect people without self-control or morals to run a world which is spearheading to pinnacles of innovation.

To sum up, I think a school should balance itself in a way that it produces citizens well-prepared to take on the responsibilities with confidence and maturity. Separating the two areas while giving more importance to only one will create citizens who are polite but incompetent.