Some people think that schools should stop teaching students by using books, because students find them boring and that children can learn from films, TV, video games and computer instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, there has been a debate whether the use of digital materials intoin teaching methods might be highly beneficial for children’s cognitive development or not. By comprehensively understanding this viewpoint, I partly agree due to its potential to cause distraction among children.

The main reason for my dissenting view is that learning through physical materials such as: books or papers might not suit personalities of current learners. In the contemporary era, the young generation might be used to immersing themselves into novel means of entertainment (video games, movies, social networks, etc.) through modern devices at an early age. Hence, a course of tedious theoretical lectures as well as heavy reliance on printed resources may be not appealing junior individuals. As a result, this perspective might create a catalyst for depression and dissatisfaction among students, which primarily results from rigid adherence to a traditional teaching approach.

However, modern teaching methods through films or games might engender counterproductive outcomes. Children are innately curious, making them gravitate more towards mental stimuli. To illustrate, video games or films are designed by providing a large amount of motions, visuals and sounds, easily attracting children with animated movements instead of fully concentrating on studying content. In comparison to this approach, learning through traditional books in a brick-and-mortar classroom might be more valuable, as a conventional learning atmosphere might support students in effectively memorizing information and promoting problem-solving skills.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions, it is crucial for citizens to acknowledge the benefits of absorbing knowledge through digital resources with an open mind and a sense of learning spirit. Personally, I suggest that if educational administrations facilitate suitable ways to balance between traditional and modern teaching methods, students will become attentive.