Some people think that schools should stop using books and, instead, use videos, computers, and other modern technology for teaching. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are those who believe that students should be taught from technological platforms such as films, TV, video games and computers instead of books. While acknowledging the advantages of this method, I am convinced that books provide greater benefits for long-term development.

Admittedly, one may argue that learning through online platforms is more effective. This can be traced back to the fact that this technology often contains spectacular visual and sound effects, which can draw children’s attention instantly. As a result, students will be more engaged and stay more focused, thereby acquiring knowledge naturally with a faster speed. For instance, English learners can deepen their knowledge about real conversations by watching sitcoms or television shows. This is because listening to native speakers’ speech not only help students boost their vocabulary but also improves pronunciation. Furthermore, students can get access to a wide range of information through films or computers free of charge, which enables young users to invest money in more essential purchases. Nevertheless, many students are addicted to video games and computers rather than using them effectively for study purposes- this can result in poorer academic performance.

I believe that books cannot be replaced by any online platforms because of its enormous benefits. Primarily, learning from books fosters cognitive thinking ability. A reason behind this is that when reading books, students have to use their imaginary to turn context into reality. The written contexts in each book allows learners to develop their comprehensive reading skills, which is beneficial for them in the future. This skills will help students secure a job in the future since many occupations require writing reports or analysing statistics, which cannot be acquired merely through the Internet. For example, archaeologists usually possess exceptional ability to read as they have to examine many artifacts that contain old written styles. Moreover, this traditional teaching method also reduces the risk of technological diseases such as short-sighted or backache since students are not exposed to blue light and toxic chemicals.

In conclusion, while students can be more interested in learning through computers or movies, I assert it is more beneficial to acquire knowledge from textbooks as this help students develop cognitive thinking skills, which is imperative for future development.