Some people think that shops shouldn’t be allowed to sell food or drink that has been scientifically proven to be bad for people’s health. Do you agree or disagree ?

Some people believe that shops should be prohibited from selling food and beverages that have been scientifically proven to be harmful to individual’s health. While others claim that it can affect the businesses and convenience for some households, I strongly agree with the perspective of not allowing shops to sell harmful products because it has long-term negative consequences in terms of both health and cost.

First and foremost, supporters of banning unhealthy food and drinks, especially sugary products highlight that these products can bring health consequences such as diabetes and obesity. In today society, reports state that many young children have been suffering from diabetes than the past, due to higher consumption of ultra-processed snacks and sugary drinks. These products are usually affordable and appealing, thereby leading to engage in consecutive consumption. Therefore, governments should impose stricter rules on selling these products in the markets and school canteens, while encouraging selling healthier food and consumerism.

Secondly, the long-term health consequences of consumption these products are significant upon both governments and citizens. For instance, it is infeasible for individuals to fully cure the diabetes, and the cost for medication and treatment can be excessive. Likewise, it will be challenges for authorities to provide healthcare services if many citizens are suffering from serious health issues. Hence, it is more practical to prevent healthcare cost by controlling on scientifically tested harmful products for expenditure.

In conclusion, unhealthy food and beverages are mostly cost-effective, attractive and easy to consume, and so people become addicted to these. However, I suppose the perspective of banning these harmful products as the subsequent diseases are prolonged and treatments are financially impactful. It would be more beneficial by doing campaigns to promote people to be engaged more organic and nutrient food, while imposing relevant regulation for selling unhealth food.