Some people think that social media platforms have a negative impact on both individuals and society, while others believe they have positive effects.

With the rapid development of social media, masses have begun to notice that we are currently in a double-edge sword situation.

Initially, social media were used as a way to communicate between people. Indeed, they made it easier to chat with your buddies at any time without a need to see them in person. Moreover, many people made their new friends, found their true love, or opened a successful business via social media.

On the other hand, as the time went on social media’s primary role started to gradually morph. The more time people spent on these apps, the less time they actually talked to people in the real life. Eventually, people started to show off and fake their lifestyle in order to get more attention and views. Something that used to be entertaining became a platform that makes you consume its contents.

In my opinion, the social media have deteriorated due to having likes and views. I remember back then, when I firstly downloaded Instagram, people used to post their daily life and share inner thoughts. However, now it is a whole new experience. There are tons of advertisements and wrong role models that influences younger generations. Never have I thought that cultural values could be substituted that fast.

To sum it up, social media had it’s glory days but it got out of a hand which lead to our current situation.