In some parts of the world, people buy far too many clothes. What are the reasons for this? How can people be persuaded to reduce the number of clothes they buy?

There is a tremendous increase in the purchase of clothes in various parts of the world, which is attracting various attention. This essay examines the possible reasons for the high demand for attires, and how people can be persuaded from this buying too many.

This growing trend has social and economic activities impacting society. There are some peculiar reasons for the surge in most regions, and here are two common causes. Firstly, social media and digital marketing are persuasive component for internet users. Both have greater way of influencing purchasing decision-making. For example, Instagram and TikTok are social networks widely used in most parts of the world. So, brands and marketers often target their users with advertisements of various attires. Celebrities are not left out from the causes, because some individuals are inspired by what their favorite celebrity wears. For example, my elder sister is a fan of an American gospel singer, including her style of dressing which influences her shopping habits. Another reason is mindset, and the urgency to wear new things.

Meanwhile, there is a need to address this emerging concern, especially impulsive decision-making do to social media adverts. Some of the targeted products are of low quality and do not last long, therefore creating the need for a new one sooner. It would be great if the relevant authorities could curb the sharp increase of fashion wears; extra taxes on the clothing industry will discourage impulsive buying, and the introduction of a stiff disposable method for used clothes will go a long way.

While the spike of excessive buying of clothes is posing economic and social challenges, the manufacturers and marketers in the fabric industry are generating tangible revenue. I hope these reasons and recommendations help to create the right balance.