Some people think that sport teaches children how to compete, while others believe that children learn team work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although sport provides numerous strategies for how children can contest with classmates, some argue that it teaches teamwork rather than contend. This essay will first closely examine both the viewpoints before concluding I agree more with the former one.

On one side, individual sports learn children about how they fight against competitors alone and reach their destination along with their desired goals. In other words, individual sports not only make children self-dependent but also enhance their skills and improve their knowledge regarding play. Ultimately, this strategy will help to grow individually with own efforts. For instance, sports like badminton, table-tennis and chess create an opportunity to fight single handedly against opponent in order to win a match. Moreover, there is no support available in individual sports so children have to create winning strategies on their own. This may also assist to build cleverness and time-management skills which will beneficial for their upcoming future. To exemplify, when playing chess, individual must be aware about opponent’s moves as well as clock-time.

On the other side, proponents who believe sport teaches teamwork argue that sports like cricket, football and hockey can be played by the support from fellow team members which help children to understand the importance of team efforts and build a communication skill. For instance, in cricket, a team can win only if all members provide their contribution to play. Additionally, in team sports tasks might be divided among members so it become quite easy to perform well and achieve a goal.

In conclusion, even though some people consider sport teaches teamwork due to certain advantages such as it helps to build a communication skill and provide a chance to divide a task among team-members, I opine that sport teaches competition because it makes children more independent and enhance their skills such as time-management, cleverness, intelligence and so on which will impact well on their persona.