some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that enforcing harsher penalties for traffic violations would be the key factor to decrease the number of road accidents. However, other claim that alternative strategies would be more succesful in order to make the roads safer. For me the second statement would be a better choice and I’ll prove this in my writing.

Firslt, strict penalties can act as a strong discouragement against dangerous driving behaviours. When driver are aware that they would be harshly penalized when they do things like speeding, drunk driving, or using mobile phones when driving, they would think twice before breaking the law. For example, China enforces harsh penalities of drunk driving, and because of this the amount of drunk driving significantly lessened. In this sense, we can see that punishments help maintain discipline and discourages stupid behaviours.

On the other hand, many people argue that punishment alone is not enough to greatly improve road safety. They think that educating drivers and improved road infrastructure may be more effective in the long term. Teaching drivers about traffic rules and penalties can help prevent accidents before they occur. In China, cameras can be seen everywhere. They can see whatever you do that is against the rule, and this leads to a great extent of fall in the number of driving offences. These addresses that there are more ways to reduce mistakes instead of just penalizing.

In conclusion, while strict punishment plays an important role in reducing traffic accidents, they shouldn’t rely this as the only solution. Other measures such as education and improved road equipments would be a better choice if the government wants to incident in the future.