Some people think that students should be required to study a second language in school, while others believe it should be optional. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Learning foreign languages have become increasingly important for students. However, some people insist whether it should be optional, while others disagree. In my view, there are several benefits and disadvantages of foreign languages’ impact to students’ future career.

On the one, studying foreign languages indeed useful skill for our modern requirements. Furthermore, new languages definitely can help when we will travel abroad. Adding foreign languages as a most required subjects to school curriculum can be beneficial for young people, especially for who want studies abroad. For instance, lot of young students have entering to top 100 universities cause of their great results from foreign language such as IELTS. Therefore, most schools offering foreign languages as a main goal for children’s success.

On the other hand, some people argue that students should learn other languages depending on their passion, thereby, they say foreign language subjects should be optional. One of the main reason as it mentioned before is student’s satisfaction, some individuals can find learning other languages tough and boring, as a consequence,they will not study those subjects completely and waste their time. Another issue opposing studying languages is some of the students’ future jobs. For example, someone can work as an engineer or lawyer in their own country with own language and these do not require certain skills about foreign language. As a result, these reasons can reinforce people to change language subjects to optional ones.

In conclusion, while learning new languages can be unnecessary for some individuals as they do not go to work abroad, but I think language subjects should be prioritize as a main subjects as they can greatly impact on students’ future career and job.