Some people think that students should learn academic subjects like science and mathematics at school. Others believe that students should also learn practical skills such as cooking and carpentry. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that this is important for children to focus on their school work, while others say that cooking and finance management is more beneficial. In my perspective, children should be taught to balance these aspects.

On the one hand, children should get knowledge at school for career opportunities and enhance their learning experience. Studying academic subjects at school assist children to obtain literacy, which is very important for people even in mature age. Literacy gives opportunities for children to develop their speech, language and even social skills, owing to improved self-esteem. Another example of benefit in studying academic subjects is professional development in children’s future jobs. By learning academic subjects at school, children are able to get knowledge in particular learning areas they need.

On the contrary, developing practical skills can be beneficial too. For instance, cooking skills are useful for being able to cook at least a small omelette. Nowadays, a majority of teens starts to live abroad in far from relatives, and this is why it is basic to have abilities in cooking. Not only cooking skills are important, but also money management. In particular, children should be taught to manage their finances to avoid financial difficulties in future. It is important to have financial literacy, which can assist people to manage finances in mature ages.

In contrast, it is necessary to balance academic education and practical skills, keep these aspects in balance.

In conclusion, children should be taught how to enhance their knowledge, but it is also essential to teach them how to manage their money and improve cooking skills. Academic subjects are essential for thinking and understanding skills, while practical skills such as cooking and money management are inevitable for being able to live independently.