Some people think that students should learn academic subjects like science and mathematics at school. Others believe that students should also learn practical skills such as cooking and carpentry. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that students should focus only on academic subjects, while others think that schools should also teach practical skills such as financial literacy and communication. This essay partially agrees with both statements because financial literacy and communication is not relevant to all students or class. Meanwhile academic subjects enable students to be displined and responsible.

One key reason for my belief is that educational institutes often assigns students with report writing, homework, group presentation, quizzes testing their ability to communicate, lead, discipline and responsibility. This alone builds the soft skills necessary in the work force. For instance in many universities professors assign groups randomly to test how they communicate with each other and lead the presentation well.

On the other hand learning financial literacy and communication is irrelevant to every student because every student has different goals and majors along with sophisticated interests. Therefore giving them an option to choose optional skills or courses is a much better way to implement their curiosity and strengths. For instance a student who is interested in aerospace engineering might not be interested in financial literacy courses. However they might love to add extra physics course to strengthen their profile.

In conclusion, although both sides has their own merits, it still depends on the specific group of students and their needs. Thus pushing them with financial literacy courses or communication skills seems vague.