Some people think that students should play more team sports, such as football and volleyball, rather than individual sports, such as running and swimming. Do you agree?

In recent years, sports have emerged as a significant facility worldwide. It is often argued that students should prefer team sports such as football and basketball rather than individual sports such as tennis and swimming. I firmly agree with this view for two main reasons: cooperation skills and avoiding selfishness.

To begin with, students playing team sports enhance the sense of cooperation with their teammates. In other words, when a child plays a team sport, football for instance, they deal with each one in their team and plan together in order to win the game. For example, if a football team wins a match, it cannot be presented as one’s effort but as the whole team’s performance. Hence, what can be said is that teamwork or working together is a primary reason for playing a team sport for students.

Additionally, not only cooperation is a primary reason for choosing team sports but also preventing egotism is mandatory. In fact, if an individual sports player wins a game, it’s always granted to him only. As a result, he mainly thinks only about his requirements and also believes that he is the only one that can accomplish the win or achievement. For instance, many studies have shown that tennis players are the most self-seeking players. This example shows that individual sports must be avoided due to its effect on the student personality.

In conclusion, after the essay provided the reasons of why selecting a team sport for students is important, I would argue that choosing team sports is pivotal for two reasons: teamwork and countering selfishness.