Some people think that students should study in their own city, however, many students prefer to study far away from their homes. Do the advantages of studying away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Some believe that students should stay in their home city to study while many students choose to leave their home cities and prefer studying far away from their homes. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

There is a great advantage for why students should stay in their own cities to take further study for their financial reasons. When students leave their hometowns to have further education, there will be some financial issues. For example, some may have to plan student loans to pay for their courses, be prepared for independent living bills and they may need to sort buying a new car. This financial preparation can be rather costly for the students and some of them may not be able to have sufficient support from their families. Therefore, these difficult financial problems would be obstacles for students to choose to study further. Clearly, students staying in their home cities to study would moderate their financial concerns to have further education.

Others argue that students need to leave their home cities to study from a distance to experience independence. When students leave their homes, they will have to be well-prepared and take responsibility for their own lives. For instance, students will have to find where they will board, plan their own studies, and meet new people. These experiences are essential for them to be independent and design their own lives in the future. However, due to a lack of experience, it is hard for students to imagine how they can cope with difficulties in their future lives, and some may not be able to enhance their lives positively because fewer experiences will make them feel extra anxious and not be independent. Obviously, students leaving their home cities may seem to be a disadvantage, although this will provide the necessary skills for them to be independent in the future

In conclusion, looking at both views, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages because it is essential for students to be ready for independence.