Some people think that subjects like arts, music, drama and creative writing contribute more towards a child's overall development. The school curriculum should provide more time for these subjects to be taught if the school wants all-round development of children. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people believe, that subjects like arts, music, drama and creative writing helps children in overall develeopment. They argue that schools should dedicated additional time to these subjects for the development. I agree this statement to some extent that these subjects are important, but i believe it should not replace the core academic subjects.

Creative subjects like arts, music, drama and creative writing will enhance children’s creativity. It helps them to develop additional skills apart from the academics. It improves their way of thinking and attitude. For instance, children attending drama sessions in school can develop their communication skills which will be more beneficial in future. Another example, the children who are interested in sports can improve their team work skills and maintain their physical fitness.

However, while arts, music and others provide various benefits to the children, it is important to ensure that the core academic subjects like science, mathematics and computer science not to be neglected. Creative subjects are benificial in developing additional skills and soft skills, but core academic subjects are significant for basic knowledge and skills for the child’s future. Therefore, balance between creative subjects and core subjects should be maintainned in school curriculum. Schools should ensure that both type of subjects are essential for the incredible development of a child.

In conclusion, while creative subjects are responsible for all-round development of children, they should replace their time with core subjects. A balanced curriculum which includes both creative and core subject is important for child’s all-round development.