Some people think that subjects like arts, music, drama and creative writing contribute more towards a child's overall development. The school curriculum should provide more time for these subjects to be taught if the school wants all-round development of children. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Overall development is very essential for school going children. Many people argue that educational institutions should allocate extra time for subjects like arts, music, drama and creative writing for the over all development of children. I strongly agree with this viewpoint as I firmly believe that subjects such as these can contribute positive developments in children’s education, while also enhance their well-being. In this essay I will present my reasons for the opinion.

First of all, involvement in artistic activities improves cognitive skills and social development. This is because the effects of creative arts stimulate the right side of the brain, which is responsible for emotional processing and social communication. As a result, children can develop strong memory, and their focus level will be increases on subjects. Many studies, for instance, have shown that the students who participate in music and creative writings often perform better in academics. This is one of the main reasons why arts are very crucial for students’ education.

The second reason is that engaging in arts and music enhance creativity and imagination, which provide children the opportunity to explore different perspectives, think outside the box, and express oneself clearly. In this way, they serve as therapeutic tools to reduce stress and anxiety often caused by academic pressure. Clearly, if schools spend extra time to teaching artistic subjects, it benefit children’s mental health and emotional well-being.

In conclusion, providing more time for artistic subjects, such as music, drama, and creative writings can improve students’ academic performance, while helping them manage their stress and achieve a sense of clam. In my opinion, the arts should be given greater importance in school curricula, as they are essential for children’s mental health and well-being.