Some people think that teachers at school are more responsible for children's intellectual and social development than parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What is your personal opinion?

In contemporary society, some individuals are of the opinion that teachers provide benefits for cognitive and interpersonal growth when children begin formal learning rather than parents. While acknowledging the rationale behind this assertion, I firmly agree with the view that educators exert an influence on the development of children.

On the one hand, it is understandable why individuals think that parents have a substantial impact on how children absorb academic’s skill and social development. According to their views, parents are seen as the cornerstone in shaping their children’s behavioral patterns and moral compass, knowing that children spend their formative years closely observing their parents. Due to this, parents can comprehensively understand each child’s needs and strengths, enabling them to teach children about cognitive behavior and intellectual skills. However, in order to secure a prestigious position in today’s competitive market, individuals need to take more responsibilities and work commitments, including extra projects or tight deadlines alongside household responsibilities, leaving a short time spent with their children. Specifically, numerous studies have shown that after fulfilling long working hours, parents are often preoccupied with domestic tasks such as meal preparation and household management, making it challenging for parents to have more time to teach their children to foster a well-rounded development for their children.

On the other hand, there are some cogent reasons why I lean towards the indispensable role of teachers in a child’s comprehensive development. Firstly, teachers with effective teaching methods can create a supportive environment to help students internalize moral values and essential skills through human interaction beyond academic knowledge. Specifically, through group projects, collaborative assignments and team sports, instructors can provide essential soft skills, such as cooperation, leadership, and nuanced problem-solving abilities, making it easier for them to become a valuable member of a team and attain a stable job. Here, students hone critical thinking skills and foster lifelong friendships, all of which can positively impact their emotional and moral development. Another notable reason is that educators with specialized training and qualifications ensure that education is not plagued by monotonous lessons but rather filled with a professional and engaging learning environment with genuine human connection. Therefore, these pedagogical expertise suit diverse learning styles and satisfy students’needs and challenges through two-way interaction and feedback, which mere parents without a structured teaching curriculum cannot do.

In conclusion, while parents exert, to a certain extent, an influence on children in their cognitive and interpersonal growth, I maintain that educators allow students to develop both intellectually and socially effectively in light of their professional training and the specialized learning environment.