Some people think that teachers at school are more responsible for children's intellectual and social development than parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What is your personal opinion?

It is said that when kids start to go to school, their teachers play a bigger role in the development of the child socially and intellectually. I do not believe this and think that parents have a much larger impact on the child.

Schooling is one of the child’s earliest form of socialization. Their teachers show them how to read, write and even play with their peers. For example, children are also given homework to ensure the knowledge is well impacted. However, the role of the teacher is limited to the intellectual aspect.

Parents, on the other hand, have a larger responsibility for the child. They spend more time with their offspring and are also naturally bonded to them. They teach them greetings, cultural norms and religion. They are still very much involved in the child’s intelligence as they decide the kids school and help with home work. Children also learn by mimicry and a lot of the values they will carry for life are picked up from their parents.

To conclude, while the teachers have a significant role in the child’s growth, the importance of the parents cannot be overemphasized as they play a much larger role in the child social and intellectual growth.