Some people think that teaching methodology in the modern classroom should be based on experiential learning while others believe that traditional approach is still the best. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

The modern classroom is a choir and the teacher is the conductor. A fine teacher will not just raise interest in a child but fill them with ambition and passion. There are numerous theories on teaching methodology, while some believe that experiential learning is best, others think the traditonal approach is better. As far as I am concerned, every child is different and so is every teacher therefore the methodology depends from case to case.

If a child exhibits qualities where they are not able to grasp a topic and need a different approach, in this situation, the traditional approach will prove futile but experiental learning will be able help the student to comprehend the topic in a manner that is very applicable to the real world. For example, in fields such as engineering, practicals classes are essential to the curriculum as they enhance the students capabilities by teaching them the importance of applications.

However, in situations where the class is dealing with topics that are completely theoritical such as astrophysics, the approach of experiential learning will be difficult. For instance, when dealing with concepts such as Hawking radiation or supernovas, a student will not be able to have a practical class regarding this topic so a traditional approach will be best. A teacher could give examples making the topic easier to grasp however when learning these perplexing topics, it is best to comprehend the nature of the subject as it is.

In conclusion, both methodologies are great at situaions that call for them. If a topic is applicable to the real world, then experiential learning is best however if the topic is theoritical in nature then we should stick with the traditional approach