Some people think that the best way to be successful in life is to get a university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that a university contributes to person’s success. While holding a university degree provides individuals with theoretical knowledge, the success does not depend on qualification only.

Those who claim university degree is essential in achieving success put forward several arguments. One is that qualification offers people with comparatively higher income. In competitive work market, individuals with a university degree can surpass those who do not have one in case of salaries and promotion. This is because degree increases social status and credibility of a person in many societies. Another argument is that some professions cannot be achieved without degree provided. It is widely known that occupations, including doctors, engineers, and teachers are impossible without qualifications, as those jobs require specialized knowledge and training. Thus, individuals aiming to work in those spheres have to graduate from a university.

These arguments notwithstanding, I still believe that there far more reasons to explain person’s success. First and foremost, success does not merely mean academic knowledge. In other words, there are many different successful athletes and tv stars in the world, who have achieved that status with help of their talent and hard work. Ronaldo, for example, is considered to be ones of the best football players, and what helped him to become successful is his determination, discipline and talent. An equally significant arguments is that experience usually takes precedence over theoretical knowledge. Even though qualification provides employees with more income, experience and practical skills help them to find proper job with stability. In other words, during stuff reduction times, employers can save a worker with a better experience rather than the one with a degree.

In conclusion, although university degree provides individuals with certain benefits, success depends in combination of is skills, such as experience, talent, stamina, and discipline.