Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the amount of road accidents occurring every day is scaringly increasing and innocent people’s lives are at threat because of distracted drivers. One of the crucial reasons why these injuries occur is the lack of responsibility coming from those who drink and drive or that get distracted using their phone.

On one hand, some might argue that raising the minimum age for driving would help lowering road injuries and getting your driving license when older would allow more consciousness and understanding of the dangers. I personally believe that age does not play such an important role in affecting safety. In fact, most of these accidents involve irresponsible drivers who get easily distracted by an incoming phone call or that drink alcohol before driving without properly knowing the dreadful consequences of this choice.

On the other hand, I contend that being allowed to drive at a younger age would give people the possibility to experience more and better learn every aspect of road safety. Furthermore, I can state that age is not a pivotal matter in this topic by presenting the fact that at times one of the reasons for accidents are elderly people who do not want to give up driving even though they are no longer able to do so.

In conclusion, even though some might assess that increasing the minimum legal age for driving would generate more consciousness and maturity on the road, I believe that driving responsibly is not linked to age but only depends on spreading awareness on the possible dangers and imposing high fines for those who use their phone or drink and drive.