Some people think that the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental pollution has been a major concern to the society. Some folks argue that increasing the oil price is not the best solution to mitigate the environmental issue. I on the other hand agree with the notion above that increasing the cost of petrol decreases the frequency of its usage thus contributing to environmental advantage.

Firstly, increasing the costs of fuel is one way to combat pollution. This is because, by inflating fuel prices, people will hesitate to spend their money on gas when they can spend their money elsewhere. For example, in Australia, people will not fill the tank of their vehicles on any other day other than Tuesday as the price of petrol is highly expensive. They need to fill up their vehicle with petrol, but are forced to wait until Tuesday just to fill up their vehicle tank when the petrol price is relatively cheaper. Moreover, they will start exploring other modes of transportation such as buses and trains since the fares are cheaper than their spending on petrol.

Secondly, increasing the costs of fuel will directly affect the demand for fuel-based cars on the market. As a result of the rise in oil prices, there is less demand on the market for a vehicle that operates on petrol and diesel. It will further encourage people to explore other transportation that uses alternative energy for example electric or hybrid vehicles. For instance, a big brand like Toyota has started to produce more hybrid and electric automobiles as there is more demand for these types of vehicles in the market from consumers.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the statement above as increasing fuel will be beneficial towards the environment since it will encourage the community to be vigilant in their fuel spending and forced to consider alternative options such as using vehicles that source from renewable energy.