Some people think that the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, environmental issues are an imperative topic, and there is a school of thought holding that raising the price of fuel is the most efficient approach to alleviating them. While it is justifiable to boost the cost of fossil fuels, I would contend that there would be more holistic approaches to alleviating these problems.

On the one hand, there is no denying that the growth of fuel prices can protect the environment. Firstly, it can mitigate the deterioration of air quality. The key rationale behind this is that the price hike is synonymous with increasing the operational cost of fossil fuel cars, which might force commuters to opt for economical means of transport, such as electric cars. This can lay the foundation for limiting the consumption of fuel from personal transportation. Another justification for this case is that this price soar may facilitate the transition to using alternative energies. Indeed, once the cost of fossil fuel is elevated, which is the main source of power for traditional factories, manufacturers would suffer from lowered profit margins, leading to eschewing these non-renewable powers in favor of renewable ones.

On the other hand, I would assume that imposing higher prices for fuel shows some limitations. For individuals, it might only be a reprieve since not every individual can afford a car operated by electric engines whose prices are quite comparable to fossil fuel cars. Low levels of society, therefore, would rely heavily on public services, requiring more fuel to meet the demand for transport. Furthermore, elevated fuel costs might put a heavy financial burden on manufacturers, as not only does this compel them to replace fossil fuel-based machinery, but also costs them a colossal fee, taking a heavy toll on their budgets. In my opinion, implementing incentives for electric cars and subsidizing the transition from conventional energy sources to sustainable ones would be more viable solutions for a greener future without afflicting low societal classes and businesses.

In conclusion, despite acknowledging the advantageous effects of increasing the cost of fuel on the environment, I believe that having incentive schemes for both electric cars and funding the transformation of conventional industries would be more radical approaches to environmental issues.