Some people think that the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some folks argue that by incrementing the cost of natural gasses will result in eliminating environmental hazards while others think otherwise. However, I whole heartedly believe that increasing the cost of oil will help reducing carbon footprint and will be in advantage of the environment.

To begin with, In the contemporary world where it has become a necessity to use a privately owned vehicle for transportation. Approximately 50% of carbon emissions that are released in our surroundings are caused due to vehicles present on road. Increasing the petrol prices will reduce the affordability of people buying cars which is directly related to reducing the harmful emissions being released. People would opt for better alternatives like car pooling or using public transit which are relatively cheaper.

Moreover, imposing higher taxes would result in authorities getting more revenue which can later be utilized to tackle and reduce emissions. In addition, Increased revenue can be used to promote public transit or create better facilities for the public, which would incentivize those using local buses. Officials in Netherlands are already implementing this by imposing higher taxes on diesel and petrol, which demotivates buyers buying cars and facilitating bike stops and reducing taxes on things that help reducing dreadful emissions like cycles and public transportation.

In my opinion, I completely agree with the statement that increasing tax duties on the oil used to run vehicles would help eliminating harmful gasses drastically. However, amalgamation of different tactics would result in a even better result. Officials can use the money received in a efficient way by promoting public vehicles. Incentivizing, folks for using less privately owned vehicle would also help eliminating this issue.