Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. Do you agree with it?

There are controversies over the efficiency of governmental expenditure targeted to art. While some think that there are some other field to which budget can better be distributed, others believe in values of art that are often overlooked. I personally stand up for governmental support to art. In this essay, I would discuss both perspective and solidify my opinion.

First and foremost, art antagonists insist that government should distribute its limited budget to where it is needed the most. For example, boosting climate actions, improving educational policies, or alleviating economic and social polarization should be the primary goals of a government. These issues, rather than art, are more directly related to the fundamental requirements for the minimum level of life and bring more immediate economic result.

However, we cannot decisively say that art creates no interest. Regular and systemized investment to art can improve an image of a certain region (from a single town-level to a metropolitan city) and lead to potential benefits. Sungsu-dong, for instance, is a famous place in Seoul that attracts hundreds of thousands of tourists for its unique atmosphere and beautiful red buildings. This sort of tourism might not have flourished if there had not been a continuous support to art.

Moreover, governmental investment to art ensure artists’ minimum level of life. Among many sectors, art tends to be ‘winner takes all’, which means only a few reputed artists monopolize income from their artistic works while others take little portion of the pie. To protect unrecognized artists from poverty, a government should create workplaces for young artists and keep encouraging the field.

Art is neither a lucrative field nor a life-threatening issue. That’s why so many art antagonists rebuke distributing budget to this field. But continuous care and investment to art can attract tourists by enhancing the image of a particular region and invite long-term tourism income. Additionally, governmental support is necessary for the next generation of artists who can benefit the society like their precedents did.