Some people think that the government should strictly control the supply of fresh water, as it is a limited resource, while others it should not be regulated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is undoubted that water plays an essential role in human daily’s life. Some individuals argue that they should have the right to use the amount of clean water they want while others assume that governments should have some policies to control water consumption. This essay will discuss both views and explain why I strongly believe that governments should intervene the use of fresh water.

Admitedly, having access to uncontaminated water is a basic human right in today’s life. With the improvement of society, both household and production activities require using significant amounts of water, such as drinking, cleaning, cooking or farming, which are basic needs for human. In addition, many people claim that ensuring the water resources for citizens is a compulsory mission of governments due to the tax money they have to submit for their nation. In return, the authorities have to use this fund to upgrade the water systems as well as provide enough fresh water for residents.

On the other hand, I strongly allocate that governments should have several methods to strictly control the use of clean water for some reasons. Firstly, the lack of education leads to the fact that many people believe that water is an unlimited resource. As a result, they misuse and waste clean water and some areas do not have proper water treatment before releasing back to the environment. Therefore, setting maximun limit for water consumption or punishing those who overuse water can be an effective way to reduce the waste water. Moreover, the governments have a deep understanding of current water situation, resulting in taking appropriate actions to prevent climate changes or other emergencies which the water shortage can cause.

In conclusion, even though water is a fundamental demand for the existence of humankind, I firmly contend that the governments should have some interventions to the water consumption to ensure the sufficient water resources for future generations. Each nation should monitor and adjust the suitable amount of fresh water for its inhabitants.