Some people think that the government should strictly control the supply of fresh water, as it is a limited resource, while others it should not be regulated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The issue of whether higher authorities should have a control on water supply or it should be free and no limit of usage is globally debatable. Despite having importance of both viewpoints, I believe foremost point is more accurate rather than latter one.

To begin with , water plays crucial role in everyone’s life so having control of government on water supply will teach lessons to the citizens about the importance of water so they can use it wisely. To explain , getting limited supply of water would not only force them to use it properly but also limit the wastage of water. For example, in india , some cities get few hours of running water daily and due to that their water wastage is 32 percent less rather than those cities with no water management.

On the opposite side, although it has been proved that controlling city water systems has bigger impacts to reduce quantity of waste water, farmers and public with no storage facilities face problems because of the cost and inconvenience . Moreover , small scale farmers needs more water resources in the hot seasons but due to costly storage system they are unable to store enough amount of the water , leads to the shortage of water and that affects their crops . For instance, in Rajasthan , despite having storage facilities , 60 to 80 percent farmers goes into debt every year because they cannot recover its cost .

I opine that giving control of water into governments hands is really helpful and necessary to save and limit water pollution but it can be only possible by teaching appropriate methods of water management and by giving funds to operate water facilities effectively.

To conclude ,fresh water supplies should be in the secure hands as its on edge of life but it can be only done by taking some right steps to insure that everyone getting what they need.