Some people think that the government should strictly control the supply of fresh water, as it is a limited resource, while others it should not be regulated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Fresh water supply in public is still debatable. Many believe that as a limited resource, it should be regulated. Yet, some people argue it is free to use. In my opinion, if there is no limitation, it will lead to a great loss.

The obvious reason for the rejection is the possibility of the authorities’ corruption. Complex bureaucracy appears to be the identity of the government that causes public aversion to dealing with administrative tasks such as registering a driver’s license and obtaining a building permit. They must devote significant time and energy to gathering numerous documents, forming lengthy queues before submitting, and waiting for the process to complete, which can take up to days. Unfortunately, there are people—even an official who monetize the condition by simplifying procedures. This will likely occur in freshwater management. It is not impossible for offenders to violate government regulations. Moreover, water is a basic need for all parties, including industry, so that makes the profit bigger.

However, not regulating water usage will lead to a great loss. People will suffer because industries tend to take over the majority to supply factory needs. It also makes the public more prone to conflict, which brings about political instability. Additionally, from the environmental perspective, ignoring water usage means letting industries pollute the water. If the government produces a law to control the usage, it will protect the public from health concerns.

After all, despite the potential for government malfeasance, regulating the water supply can help prevent state instability. In general, imposing regulations on limited resources to control supply is a good idea.