Some people think that the increasing use of technology in education is harming students' ability to think critically. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, it has become increasingly common for students to use digital devices, and some think that it is a negative development as this trend may worsen their social and cognitive development to some extent. However, I completely disagree with this statement since this change enables them to learn individually and not to deplete their social energy.

The first reason why this shift is positive is that students can learn what they need anytime and without any payment. It is notorious that most people who are studying tertiary education have financial instabilities since they have no time to work, as their curriculums are often irregular, and are provided mostly by their parents. This, in turn, means that it is important for them to be flexible and learn wherever and whenever they can, and technology helps them to do so because tools like AI and others are always with them and facilitate searching for information, enabling them to acquire skills and gain knowledge faster which leads to better academic performance. Moreover, many technologies are affordable and accessible even for everyone, which makes them more valued by the public.

Another reason is related to the nature of a person. When a student is an introvert, learning in a group or with someone may affect them negatively because this type of exposure may trigger adverse reactions and empty their social battery, potentially leading to some mental problems. For this reason, it may be better for them to study by themselves, and technologies , in this situation provide necessary materials and guides, helping them enormously.

However, it does not mean that students should not exclusively rely on modern developments since traditional learning methods play an important role in their emotional intelligence and intellectual skills, which may be extremely helpful in their future career and endeavours.

In conclusion, while it may partly worsen their social development, as they do not learn social education, and their intelligence, I believe that it is largely a positive trend because sometimes students’ well-being and the flexibility provided are more crucial.