Some people think that the main benefit of international cooperation is in the protection of the environment, while others believe that the main interest is in the world of business. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One school of thought claims that the primary advantage of global cooperation is to tackle environmental issues, while others claim that the main purpose is in the global business. Although both views hold their own merits, I still concur with the latter perspective. In this essay, I will evaluate both statements before reaching my own conclusion.

On one hand, some individuals argue that protecting the environment is the fundamental purpose of international cooperation due to the serious environmental issues of our planet that need to be addressed. This is based on the fact that the Earth is suffering numerous environmental issues such as drought and earthquake. Unfortunately, one nation alone may not effectively handle these problems due to its insufficient national budget or human labors. Therefore, cooperation between several countries is necessary to address environmental problems efficiently. For instance, a cooperation between four countries, including Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand and Laos, was established in 2018 to handle air pollution. After six months, the amount of carbon dioxide emissions reduced dramatically, highlighting the importance of cooperation between nations. As a result, opponents of this view argue that the main objective of global cooperation is to alleviate environmental issues.

On the other hand, others contend that the international business is a more important purpose of global cooperation because it may lead to economic stimulation between nations. Specifically, global business includes trading goods and products between nations. Because some products, such as fruits and materials, only exist in some countries, international cooperation is one of the most effective approaches to trade and sell a nation’s products. As a result, this development may yield long-term benefits for exporting countries, including boosting the national economy. Consequently, citizens’ well-being and the quality of life may be enhanced significantly. For example, a report in Vietnam in 2015 revealed that the country’s economy was stimulated by 30% due to the export of coconuts to Western countries such as France and England. This is clear evidence emphasizing the effectiveness of international cooperation in the world business.

In conclusion, there are mixed opinions about what is the primary objective of global cooperation. Although some claim that addressing environmental issues is the main purpose due to the seriousness of environmental problems, I still contend that the fundamental purpose is trading in the world business, as it may boost the national economy.