Some people think that the main factors influencing a child's development these days are things such as television, friends, and music. Others believe that the family still remains more important. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion.

When it comes to a child’s upbringing, some people believe that television, friends, and music are the main factors that contribute to a child’s maturation nowadays, however, others maintain that family environment is a crucial part of development. I believe both sides have unparalleled importance, but the parents’ role is much more important.

Those who support the idea that TV and friends are the majority contributors to children’s development point to several reasons. One of them is a large amount of time spent with peers or watching television by youngsters. When children play with their friends, they are more likely to learn something from each other. This leads to developing characters, which can shape a child’s attitudes or habits. Similarly, television influences the young generation’s development. Since they learn to separate the difference between white and dark, and then these firsthand experiences last in their future life. Given these circumstances, it comes as no surprise that the effects of television and friends on a child’s maturation.

Without a doubt, family environment is the most important factor in the young generation’s growth. Mainly, children do what they see in their family, thus it is a crucial part of personal development. If parents spend most of their time with their children, they can teach them the rules of etiquette such as speaking politely, table manners, and behavior in public areas. As a result, children learn the difference between do and do not, which are the main factors to develop good attitudes. This demonstrates parents’ influence on shaping their children’s development.

From my perspective, these factors mostly depend on the parents. If parents use rude words or quarrel every day, these situations are more likely to affect their children. This leads to experiencing anxiety and depression in the early years, which ultimately causes mental health issues like stress. In addition, they may use offensive words, that they learned from their parents, in their classrooms. So parents must broaden their awareness when they have a child.

In conclusion, although a child’s maturation is affected by their friends and television, parenthood plays a crucial role in a child’s upbringing.