Some people think that the main factors influencing a child's development these days are things such as television, friends, and music. Others believe that the family still remains more important. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion.

There is a rising discussion nowadays whether the main reasons that influence a child’s growth are factors such as arts, social life and television or that the family still has the most effect. In my opinion, children these days are most affected by media platforms and drift apart from their families at such a young age. This essay will briefly discuss both points of view.

On the one hand, families will have the most significant impact on their children no matter what. First of all, due to the genetic factors that there are many traits in which children inherit from their parents. These genes are supposedly the main reasons that shape children to who they really are and what they will become. However, children still look after their parents, especially at the early stages of life. For instance, in 2022, there is a research published in The Times stated that 90% of the children at their first 7 years in life see their parents as their role models and they want to grow up exactly the way they are.

On the other hand, owing to people’s life style recently, families do not have enough time to spend with their children because of their extra responsibilities and the huge time they spend in work. As a result, children cannot learn much from their parents due to their recurrence absence. Hence, children find other sources to interact with such as the media, social networks, songs and video games that affects them greatly as they spend most of their time doing these things. For example, all recent studies are warning of the escalating problems from children’s increasing screen time and lack of parental control that became a major concern lately.

To conclude, it is crucial for families to find enough time to spend with their kids in order to guide and support them. It is my belief that, children are not supposedly being left to many influences and distractors that could seriously hurt them. Governments should raise the awareness to this issue through campaigns and social services urgently to protect our children.