Some people think that the modern communication is having a negative effect on a social relationship. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few decades, the dispute about the impact of modern communication technologies on human relationships, has been at the top of the agenda. While one group of people thinks that online communication has a lot of benefits, others oppose this statement.

When it comes to me, I think that this topic is quite ambiguous and contradictory, so, I will try to scrutinize the pros and cons of new ways of communication before coming to a concrete decision.

First and foremost, in today’s world it is really hard to imagine life without all these communication tools, we are talking about. Being socially active, nowadays, means using all the social media applications and be in touch through the internet. So, modern communication technologies give us an opportunity to do everything faster and in more efficient way. Admittedly, there are parts of life, when it is much more better to communicate in real life, rather than by using all these communication tools, because we can not fully express our emotions trough the phone display. Hence, we often observe problems in relationships with lack of quality time and acts of service, which can be implemented only in a real life communication and leads to the misunderstandings or even mental breakdowns between partners. Secondly, because of international mass media difference between cultures is narrowing. I mean, we all are listening to the same music, eat the same food and even wear the same clothes, so because of it globalization takes place. Last, but not least, I would like to talk about an opportunity to stay in touch with our most beloved ones through long distance, it would be impossible without modern communication technologies such as video calls and chats. Moreover, these tools enable us to protect ourselves in dangerous situations, such as disasters or health emergencies, by enabling us to reach out to others to help.

To conclude, I whole-heartedly agree that we need all these modern communication tools, because they are not even new for us, we are used to them and can not imagine our life without internet and social media. For sure, it has a certain negative effect, but the proper use of modern technologies will enable us to enjoy all the positive points.