Some people think that the modern communication is having a negative effect on a social relationship. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that technological developments have negatively affected social bonding. Despite being convenient, social media platforms have reduced physical communication, resulting in poor social skills. Consequently, less human interaction results lack of empathy towards others. The aforementioned argument is, therefore, completely agreed with.

One of the key negative effects of modern technology is that it reduces people’s physical interaction. Body language is essential in conveying messages appropriately. Online texts, for instance, can be misunderstood sometimes, due to the absence of the tone and facial expressions of the speaker. Additionally, poor social skills result in difficulties in establishing relationships. For example, high school students, as a result of continuously using their electronic devices, find it challenging to maintain long-term friendships.

Moreover, the developing communication platforms affect individuals’ bonding and result in a lack of empathy towards others. It is challenging to understand and respond to the feelings of others while not seeing or verbally talking to them. For instance, nowadays most people post their private lives on Instagram or Facebook. Consequently, people assume others are doing well, even if they are struggling emotionally. In addition, the effects of these developments reach family bonding. Instead of spending quality time with the family, people nowadays tend to call or text them instead, which is insufficient to maintain strong relationships.

The developing communication technology has resulted in decreasing physical interactions. As a result of this, the community suffers from poor social skills, a lack of empathy, and weak relationships. It is, therefore, claimed that modern technology has affected social connections badly.