Some people think that to lead a successful life, a university degree is important. Others believe that this is no longer true nowadays. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are some people who think of university as necessary for success, while others argue that it is not a requirement to achieve a fruitful career. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and give my personal thoughts.

First of all, going to university can provide students with knowledge that is beneficial for their professions. Specifically, in some fields that are more technical and require in-depth understanding, high-level education is a prerequisite. Moreover, by gaining insight into one’s major, people are more capable of understanding workflow and have better management skills, therefore they are more likely to get promoted. For instance, higher education is compulsory for people who follow a career such as medicine or technology, which typically call for college degrees.

On the other hand, by not enrolling in college, young people can get a head start in their professional path in comparison to their peers. To clarify this point, as courses require several years to finish, spending that time on establishing a business can give people advantages over others. Furthermore, by participating in the workforce at a young age, the youth can gain first-hand experience, which has become a highly sought-after quality for recruiting. In fact, some famous businessmen and businesswomen are known for starting their career path at a young age and becoming successful.

In conclusion, while getting a university education has become less popular in recent years, I argue that doing so still gives learners an edge over others, especially in more academic fields.