Some people think that to reduce traffic and pollution, the government should increase tax on petrol (gasoline). Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is based on different opinions from a wide variety of people on whether the government should increase tax on gasoline in order to reduce traffic and pollution. There can be several advantages and disadvantages to this concept. The decisions made by people should be logical and plays a huge role, in understanding the circumstances.

Although traffic and pollution have been part of our lives, there has been a sudden increase in the amount of traffic and pollution in recent years. There are several reasons as to why there has been a quick change in this. In this fast-moving world of ours, nowadays, many people prefer using vehicles of their own, it could be either a two-wheeler or a four-wheeler. They like to think themselves as the independent beings and would set up a priority to be comfortable which is limited whilst using public transport. Due to these decisions made by us, humans, roads are filled with many transports and thus leading to traffic and pollution. Additionally, some of the vehicle owners fails to do a proper check up on their old and rusty engines which in turn produces toxic gases and hence the pollution.

To avoid such hinderances, some people think that it is better to increase petroleum or gasoline taxes. There can be certain pros and cons as to why the taxes should be increased or not. For instance, hyped taxes on petrol can lead to people using fewer vehicles of their own and use public transports, therefore, there might be profound decrease in traffic and pollution because the roads will be less packed. However, on the other hand, increasing taxes can take a toll on pupil’s finances. People whose work needs the use of vehicle like tourist drivers, delivery man, public transport drive