Some people think that too much money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and that money is better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a growing belief that spending significant amounts of money to preserve biodiversity of wild animals is unjustified and it is more effective to spend that money on the human population. However, I completely disagree with this point due to the fact that wild-life protection ensures ecological stability and provides environmental benefits to nature.

The main reason is that wild animals play a critical role in the ecosystem, protecting them helps maintain balance and biodiversity, which supports all life, including humans. Unexpected and unprevented changes in the ecosystem can disturb the stability of the food chain and result in a loss of certain species or even the whole ecosystem. For instance in the early 1900s, wolves were removed from the national park of Yellowstone in an attempt to make the park safer. However, with no wolves, the elk population exploded resulting in a decline of trees and plants. Furthermore, the bird population dropped as their habitat disappeared. This is a bright example of how the loss of one species of wild animals can be the cause of an unstable ecosystem.

Another reason is that animals play a huge role in helping our environment stay healthy and balanced. With the rising concern for global warming, climate regulation provided by wild-life is especially vital. Wild animals help pollinate plants and spread seeds, this allows plants to reproduce and support the ecosystem by mitigating the rising levels of carbon dioxide. Similarly, whales and certain species of plankton protect the balance in the ocean by enhancing the growth of organisms in reefs, which absorb huge amounts of carbon gases.

Wild-life protects the ecosystem that protects us, loss of animal diversity could take a toll on every aspect of our life from agriculture to economy and food supply. Thus, the enormous amounts of money and efforts preventing the loss of wild-life is worth the hustle.