Some people think that water is the most important natural resource, while other believe that other resources such as oil and gold are more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The debate over the supremacy of natural resources centers around whether water holds more significance compared to other resources like oil and gold. While arguments can be made for the importance of oil and gold, in my opinion, the fundamental role of water is unparalleled.

On the one hand, granted, oil and gold are linchpins of economic growth and technological progress. Oil, as the primary source of energy, fuels industries, powers transportation and supports the intricate web of modern civilization. Apart from these industrial benefits, oil is said to be a driving force of nations’ economies, with thriving Middle Eastern countries being clear examples. Similarly, gold, beyond its economic value in international trade, boasts unique properties that render it indispensable in technological applications such as switches and connectors. It is this precious metal that conducts electricity almost without waste and does not corrode, making it useful for such electronic tools. On these grounds, it might be reasonable to highlight the vitality of oil and gold.

On the other hand, there are those who believe the primacy of water is unmatched for the planet and mankind, which is the view I agree with. On a planetary level, water has an irreplaceable role in sustaining life. Water, the essence of life, is the bedrock of ecosystems, seeing as a better part of the Earth is made up of water and almost all beings depend on it for survival. On a human level, we need water for numerous reasons, ranging from consumption, energy and agriculture. In the shortage of this natural resource, several diseases would spread owing to unpalatable water, electricity could not be generated and lands would remain unirrigated. To my view, contributions of oil and gold to the global economy along with technology, while noteworthy, pale in comparison to the indispensability of water.

To conclude, while acknowledging the economic and technological values of oil and gold, I believe the preeminent significance of water cannot be overstated since it stands as a cornerstone of life – the planet and its people.