Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs. To what extent do you agree?

A number of individuals assert that people should know about the local practices and customs before visiting another culture. I completely agree with this as it will broaden their horizons, and they can easily make new friends.

Knowing about different cultures can enhance people’s knowledge. When individuals visit other cultures, they confront a number of barriers which are the main issue for them. So, if they adapt to local practices, it will be easier to explore different cultures, and they will be able to enrich their knowledge as well. Furthermore, when people adapt to local cultures, it also shows mutual respect which is really beneficial. For example, people who are Asian always put off their shoes when they enter any foreign house and even home. Therefore, if any foreigner does this when they visit those countries, Asian citizens feel very proud of their cultures.

Another advantage of adapting to the local customs and practices is people can easily make relationships with others. People are very serious about making friends nowadays so that they can explore other cultures without any hesitation, and it also makes their travels highly enjoyable and creates long-lasting memories. In addition, when people know other cultures’ practices, they feel very close to others. As a result, they might make their travel worthy. For instance, a study carried out shows that visitors who gain knowledge about local cultures in order to travel can easily make friends and visit other countries without experiencing any bad situations.

In conclusion, I believe that it is really crucial for visitors to know about other cultural practices when they plan to visit other countries because it helps to expand our knowledge and allows us to make new friends which makes our travel more enjoyable.