Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, with the growth and expansion of our society, the youngsters gradually become ignoring other fellow humans. Therefore, some individuals argue that this group of people should be required to take part in several volunteer activities, which can help people in the community. From my perspective, I firmly believe that the merits of this assertion can outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, requiring young people to attend unpaid work can lead to several disadvantages in their time and financial conditions. Firstly, most young people have a great burden from the heavy workload as well as the busy school schedule, thus they can gain a great deal of pressure if they are requested to perform unpaid jobs. In particular, after a long day of working, most people tend to spend their spare time with family or for their hobbies in lieu of doing volunteer work. Furthermore, charitable activities can not bring enough value regarding financial advantages for the youth. The development of the national economy encourages the young generation to put an effort in earning money, leading to the fact that they are not willing to enroll in community services which are usually unpaid.

On the other hand, it is admitted that youthful residents can have more opportunities to acquire spiritual value from community activities. When youngsters take part in volunteering, they have to become more responsible with their lives, since they have a chance to meet others who encounter plenty of challenging situations. These opportunities can foster each individual’s independence and responsibility as well as community unity and solidarity. As a result, the living conditions of each citizen can be improved, contributing to shortening the rich and poor gap. In addition, engaging in voluntary jobs helps young people broaden their social circle through associating with new friends. These relationships can be an effective form for volunteers to expand their educational pathway or future pathway.

In conclusion, I believe that despite some drawbacks related to the freedom and the working attitude, young individuals should have more chances to take part in community services whether it is unpaid or not.