Some people think the advertisement has positive economic effects, while others think it has social impacts because individuals are not satisfied with who they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As a potent marketing tool in contemporary times, advertisements play an indispensable role in the marketing campaign of companies. Indeed, they undeniably bring substantial profits, but their negative effects, from my perspective, should be carefully weighed against the financial gains and raise public attention.Admittedly, some people might contend that modern businesses would not navigate

competitive market without advertisement. Along with expanded demands brought by population explosion comes mushroomingbrands occupying respective niche marketThe pressing need to stand out of these competitors necessitatesadvertisements impressive enough to reach targeted customersand convert them intoloyal users, thus enhancing the marketability of products. However, the progressively detrimental influence on people, especiallyyounger generation’s value cannot be disregarded.

The primary concern over advertisement is its ability to distort people’s perceptionof themselves. Aiming to instill in people inferior feelings, advertisements depict what an ideal life would be like in order to remind the audiences of the disparitybetween their status quo and the portrayed scenes.Regrettably, those influenced viewers, failing to beware of the significance of contentment and driven by a desire to live up to presumed expectations, would impulsively place orders regardlessof the advertised commodities’ actual practicality. In more concerningscenarios, consumers would be lured into one trap after another from which they stand no chance to escape due to an exerted obsession withimproving themselves.Another worrisome facet of pervasiveadvertisement remains financial burden it imposes on younger generation. Peer pressure, one of the psychological tactics often utilized in advertisement, targets at young people with intent to blend in their desired social group especially those in higher social strata. A good illustration is luxury. Initially priced exorbitantly for the

privileged class, luxury goods are marketed to enhance the social standingof their owners by creating a sense of exclusivity. Whereas with the availability of credits comes ordinary people’s overestimation of their true financial status,stimulating a portion of them to succumb topeer pressure and purchase seemingly unaffordable products. This could result in foreseeable rapidly accumulated debts by the virtue ofother possible imprudent consumptionalike.To conclude, given the progressively encroached market by a myriad of brands, modern businesses typically rely on precise and targeted advertising to secure sufficient market share and remain profitable. On the other hand, the potential implications for inferior feelings and financial crisis on individual level should be noted as well.