Urban areas are becoming overcrowded. What are the causes? Is this a sustainable development?

Nowadays, more and more people are moving to cities for living. Urban overpopulation is caused by rural-urban migration. In my opinion, this trend is unsustainable because it leads to housing shortages and reduced quality of life.

The primary cause of urban overpopulation is rural-urban migration. This occurs when people move from countryside areas to cities in search of better opportunities. Due to residents of suburban areas face issues such as lack of job emloyment opportunities, poor education and healthcare system , they tend to migrate to urban ares. As a result, people get access to career prospects, higher education and healthcare. Moreover, there are a range of facilities and amenities, which are make lifes more comfortable and convinient. For example, many students from countrysides after graduation from school choose universities in bigger cities for high-quality education.

This is unsustainable because it leads to lack of housing and low level of life quality. Because of the rising population, demand for housing extremely increases and it can be hard to find place to live. Furthermore, more private vehicles occur, which leads to traffic jams and congested roads. Carbon emissions would worsen ecological degradation and air pollution and have a negative impact on people’s well being. As a result, resident’s quality of lifes reduces and cities can not be able to provide better life.

In conclusion, currently many people migarate to cities because of the better opportunities and facilities. This trend seems to be unsustainable since it leads to housing challenges and lower quality of life of its residents.