Some people think the government should provide free housing, while others believe it is not the government’s responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It cannot be denied that housing is the biggest lifetime investment for a human being; it is a basic right to have either big or small residence for everyone. If the government were to provide housing facilities to everyone, it would have a negative impact on the economic and social growth of a nation.

It is certain that everyone works to support themselves and their family. Three needs are necessary to fulfill above all: food, shelter and clothing. Everyone is responsible for themselves, not the government, to earn the normal necessities for survival. The higher authority has much more to invest in for the future growth of the nation. If government were to start giving housing facilities, people would become lazy and less responsible, ultimately not forcing themselves to do much, since their major concern would have already been solved by the government.

Instead, in order to improve standard of living of the community, the government can assist them in various ways, such as provide them with the educational and medical facilities, and many more. An educated and healthy youth can help to develop a nation rather than an inefficient and lazy society.

In my opinion, the administration should help in reducing the gap between poor and rich, especially those whose have no adequate residential facilities. They can start providing housing loans at lower rates, and reduce unnecessary property taxes. They can start cheap housing schemes for public who live below the poverty line.