Some people think the government should provide free housing while others believe it is not the responsibility of the government. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a notion among people that governments should take full responsibility for providing affordable accommodation for citizens, while others believe that individuals should take their own responsibility for owning homes. While providing accommodation for everyone offers social equality and reduces homelessness, individuals finding their own homes can develop personal responsibility and freedom of choice; I think that balanced approach would be ideal.

Supporters of governments being responsible for providing housing for citizens say that it can lead to social equality by ensuring that low-income families have access to safe and decent homes. Governments can provide accommodation for people from poor backgrounds and ensure that everyone has access to safety and security. Moreover, government intervention can prevent people living on the streets and reduce the levels of homelessness. Therefore, governments can decrease the levels of pollution on the streets and provide good quality of life.

However, advocates of people being responsible for finding house on their own believe that it can promote personal sense of commitment. It encourages them to plan finances, work hard to afford a home ownership and cover maintenance costs, therefore reaching stability and quality life. For instance, in countries like USA, most housing is privately owned, and people are encouraged to save and invest money for their own homes. Furthermore, it also provides people with freedom of choice. People can choose locations and types of housing according to their preferences, rather than being assigned by the government.

In my opinion, the governments should provide affordable housing for the most vulnerable, while individuals who can afford it should find their own homes. This ensures social fairness without putting too much financial burden on the state.

In conclusion, while some think that housing provided by governments offers social equality and reduces the level of homelessness, others believe that people should find houses on their own as it develops personal responsibility and freedom of choice. I think that balanced approach would be ideal, as it provides social fairness without financial burden.