Some people think the governments should act to decide how people live in order to have a healthier life. Others think individuals should decide their own lifestyle. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many individuals contend that the authorities should control citizens’ lifestyles, while others believe that people have the right to choose their own way to live. Although government intervention is very necessary to some extent, I believe that personal freedom is very important.

Admittedly, people who advocate government control might present certain valid arguments. Firstly, governments can help people develop healthier eating habits. For example, governments can encourage healthier lifestyles by regulating tobacco products, limiting excessive alcohol consumption, and promoting nutritious diets. As a result, people can enjoy nutritious food and gain better health. Moreover, when citizens’ health is improved, they may be less likely to suffer from diet-related diseases. In particular, when high-sugary drinks are restricted, the rate of diabetes among the population can be reduced. Consequently, governments can allocate more resources to other public services such as education and public safety rather than healthcare expenditure.

However, I strongly believe that personal freedom is a key factor in achieving a fulfilling life. Firstly, people nowadays usually have high demands for personal freedom which allows them to live in their own ways without being judged. For instance, many people prefer living alone rather than with partners as they do not want anything to limit them from being themselves. Therefore, if governments excessively regulate personal choices, many individuals may feel uncomfortable and restricted, making citizens’ lives challenging. Additionally, citizens often have different kinds of work, resulting in different dietary needs. Specifically, in some periods of life, some employees need to work all day with limited time to cook and eat, making them choose instant food as the most convenient choice. As a result, the efforts of governments may be a burden for people with hectic schedules.

In conclusion, although governments’ decisions in people’s diet can offer certain benefits, I posit that people should have the right to choose how they eat, where they live, and how they spend their leisure time, provided that their choices do not harm others.